02RS HB693


WWW Version

HB 693 (BR 2286) - T. Burch, J. Jenkins, De. Butler

     AN ACT relating to denturists.
     Create new sections of KRS Chapter 313 to require licensing of persons engaging in the practice of denturitry; define the practice; prohibit one from engaging in the practice if he or she is not licensed and has not registered with the Board of Dentistry or does not meet minimum competencies; require that documentation of training or of previous experience be submitted to the board; amend 313.200 to add two denturists to the board; amend KRS 313.220 to require the board to establish a licensing process for denturists within six months of the effective date of this Act.


     HCS - Retain original provisions, except provide for appointment of 2 denturist board members from list of names supplied by the Kentucky Denturist Association, rather than from annual meeting; require board to establish licensing process within 6 months, otherwise the Kentucky Denturists Association will provide a list of names of qualified denturists to board, which shall then issue licenses, rather than allow for Association to issue licenses; establish fines and jail time for persons practicing denturitry without a license; permit board to institute legal action to obtain injunction against persons practicing without a license; clarify reciprocal licensing provisions; clarify the grandfather clause, allowing person who has practiced as a denturist for 2 years to be licensed upon submitting 3 affidavits from former patients, 3 affidavits from persons who have received denturitry services within last year, and an affidavit showing proof of membership in the Association for at least 2 years; require board to institute disciplinary action against persons practicing without a license; and require board to issue regulations within 6 months to implement Act.

     Feb 19-introduced in House
     Feb 20-to Health and Welfare (H)
     Feb 26-posted in committee
     Feb 28-reported favorably, 1st reading, to Calendar with Committee Substitute
     Mar 1-2nd reading, to Rules
     Mar 5-posted for passage in the Regular Orders of the Day for Wednesday, March 6, 2002
     Mar 6-3rd reading, passed 46-43 with Committee Substitute
     Mar 7-received in Senate
     Mar 12-to Licensing and Occupations (S)

Kentucky Legislature Home Page | Record Front Page