SB 39/LM (BR 1064) - J. Westwood
AN ACT relating to special license plates.
Create a new section of KRS Chapter 186 to create a Choose life license plate; set forth procedures for transfer or replacement; require a minimum of 900 applications before the plate is to be printed; set the fee for the plate at $53 for the first 900 applications and $15 for all subsequent applications; specify that if 900 applications are not received within one year of the effective date of the Act, the provisions establishing a Choose Life license plate are automatically repealed; provide that an applicant for a Choose Life license plate may also give a voluntary $20 contribution when applying for or renewing a registration under this section that a county clerk will forward quarterly to the Kentucky Foster/Adoptive Care Association, Inc.; create a new section of KRS Chapter 186 to set forth accounting procedures to allowable uses of contributions given under this program; require the association to use money contributed from the sale of Choose Life license plates for qualified agencies that promote counseling for pregnant women about the option of adoption.
SB 39 - AMENDMENTS
SCS/LM - Delete Section 1 of the Act and replace with the following: Create a new section of KRS Chapter 186, relating to the registration and licensing of motor vehicles, to create a special Choose Life license plate; require the Kentucky Foster/Adoptive Care Association, Inc. to obtain a minimum 900 applications along with a $25 state fee for each application before the Transportation Cabinet is required to print the plate; provide that if the 900 applications are not submitted to the cabinet within a year of the effective date of the Act, the provisions creating the special plate expire; establish an initial fee for the plate of $28 and a renewal fee of $15; permit initial applicants and persons renewing their registration to make a voluntary $20 contribution that will be sent to the Kentucky Foster/Adoptive Care Association, Inc.
SFA (1, D. Karem) - Retain the provisions of the Senate Committee Substitute and add two sections to create a Protect Choice special license plate; define a "qualified agency" to mean an agency or organization that is a nongovernmental, nonprofit organization that provides family planning or reproductive health services; provide that the term shall not mean any agency or organization that prohibits or limits access to abortion services; establish that 900 applications with the appropriate fee must be presented to the Transportation Cabinet before the license plate will be printed; allow persons to make a voluntary contribution of $20 when initially purchasing or renewing a Protect Choice license plate; require the county clerk to transmit the contributions on a quarterly basis to the qualified agency or agencies that applied for the plate to be printed.
Jan 6-introduced in Senate
Jan 9-to Transportation (S)
Jan 28-reported favorably, 1st reading, to Calendar with Committee Substitute
Jan 29-2nd reading, to Rules; floor amendment (1) filed to Committee Substitute
Feb 2-posted for passage in the Regular Orders of the Day for Tuesday, February 3, 2004
Feb 3-3rd reading; floor amendment (1) defeated ; passed 27-4 with Committee Substitute
Feb 4-received in House
Feb 5-to Transportation (H)